The colors of Navratri

Today is Ghatasthapana, the first day of Navratri festival, which is one of the most celebrated Hindu festivals. Navratri is celebrated twice a year, once in March and second time in September. 

These nine nights celebrations are dedicated to goddess Durga, who is the fierce form of the protective mother goddess, willing to unleash her anger against wrong, violence for liberation and destruction to empower creation.

The unique aspect of this festival is, the goddess Durga is draped in a specific color that symbolizes a specific avatar on a specific day of the celebration. Hindus, who know the significance of these colors, would like to wear them to bring the luck and prosperity.

Day 1 – Ghastasthapana – Royal Blue

Ghastasthapana, the first day of Navratri, is the beginning of the holy pooja of the Goddess Durga. The Goddess is draped in royal blue sari that signifies the protection against diseases, and also mark the beginning of festive season. On this day, we offer cow ghee to the goddess.

Day 2 – Dwitiya – Yellow

On Dwitiya, the second day of Navratri, the goddess Durga is worshiped as Brahmacharini, is also known as Dwitiya. The goddess Durga wears yellow sari on this day and offer sugar to Goddess Brahmacharini. The sugar is offered to increase the life expectancy of your family members. 

picture credit:

Day 3 – Tritiya – Green

On Tritiya, the third day of Navratri, the Goddess Durga is worshiped as Chandraghanta. It is believed that the goddess takes away devotees’ miseries. We wear green on this day and offer milk or milk pudding to her. 

Day 4 – Chaturthi – Grey

On Chaturthi, the fourth day of Navratri, the goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kushmanda. It is believed that the universe was created as goddess laughed. On this day, the goddess is draped in grey as goddess takes away all the problems of devotees. We offer khoya or dates or malpua to her, and one should wear grey color on this day.

Day 5 – Panchami – Orange 

On Panchami, the fifth day of the festival, the goddess is worshiped as Skandamata, the mother of Kartikeya. She is dressed in orange that represent peace and happiness, and we wear the orange coloured attire on this day. We offer bananas to goddess on this day.

Day 6 – Sashti – White

On Sashti, the sixth day of Navratri, the goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Katyayani in white sari that represents beauty and health. According to mythological story, a legend sage Katya wanted to welcome the goddess as his daughter and he prayed her. When goddess was pleased, she took a birth in his home as his daughter. She was named after sage Katya, as Katyayani. We offer honey to the goddess on this day.

Day 7 – Saptami – Red

On Saptami, the seventh day of Navratri, the goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kalratri as she protects her devotees. Kalratri (also known as Subhankari), symbolizes the immense power of goddess. Devotees offer jaggery to the goddess on this day.

Day 8 – Ashtami – Sky Blue

On Ashtami, the eighth day, the goddess Durga is worshiped as Maha Gauri. On this day, goddess Durga forgives her devotees sin and purifies them. The blue signifies the prosperity and happiness, and we donate coconuts to Brahmins.

Day 9 – Ram Navami – Pink

On Navami, the ninth day of Navratri, is the last day the goddess Durga.The last day of Navratri is dedicated to Devi Siddhidatri. The goddess fulfils the devotees’ wishes and the color signifies aspirations and power. We offer sesame seeds to goddess on this day.

So, as you head out for your work or evening aarti or dandiarass, you know ‘what to wear’.

Happy Navaratri!

(Source: Times Now News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!